gfxgfxQuArK Forumsgfxgfx
gfx gfx
gfx
QuArK logo
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 22, 2014, 09:30:39 PM

Login with username, password and session length
QuArK 6.6.0 Beta 6 is out! Get it from the download page!
gfx
gfx
gfxgfx
gfxgfx gfxgfx
Search:     Advanced search
gfxgfx Home Help Search Login Register   gfxgfx
gfx gfx
gfx
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Science with Quark  (Read 2270 times)
fcollman

Email
« on: October 21, 2009, 07:48:51 PM »

Since I'm not sure who to send this to specifically, i thought i'd just post a general note on the forums here.

I'm a graduate student at Princeton university, and I'd like to thank the general quark community for all the work they have put into this project, as it has been a large help in the research my laboratory is conducting.  Last week we published a paper on using Quake 2 as the basis for a virtual reality system for mice, and we designed all of our experiments using Quark.  You can read a popular summary of the research on Wired (http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/2009/10/mouse-virtual-reality/) or the BBC (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/science/nature/8308537.stm).  Note the video is not really the experiment in the paper, and you should not be convinced the mouse in navigating based solely on that video.. its mostly just to give people a sense of what the setup is and how it works.  The paper has much more convincing data than shown there.

I can't underestimate the time and effort Quark saved us in the process.  We have many people in the lab, with a wide range of programming abilities, but everyone is able to learn the basics of how Quark words and design their own custom experiments in a matter of weeks without much training.  In fact, the environment used most extensively used in the paper was conceived over lunch, and implemented that same afternoon. A testament to how easy Quark is to use.